Dr. Josephine Etowa, PhD, RN, FWACN, FAAN FCAN FCAHS

Dr. Etowa is a professor at the University of Ottawa, Ontario HIV Treatment Network (OHTN) Chair in Black Women’s HIV Prevention and Care. She held the Loyer-DaSilva Research Chair in Public Health Nursing (2012–2019), and is past Co-Chair of the Community Health Nurses national standards revision working group, and past president of the Health Association of African Canadians.

Dr. Etowa is a transformational leader in anti-racist health equity research, the founder and lead investigator of the CO-CREATH Lab, and senior investigator with the University of Ottawa’s Centre for Research on Health and Nursing.

Grounded in over 25 years of clinical practice, Dr. Etowa’s research program includes nationally and internationally funded studies on health equity, perinatal health, COVID-19, HIV/AIDS, nurses’ work life, and community health nursing. Her research is informed by an intersectionality lens, socio-ecological theories and the tenets of community-based participatory research (CBPR). She is an internationally educated nurse and midwife, with BScN and MN from Dalhousie University and PhD from the University of Calgary.

If you would like to book Dr. Etowa for a speaking engagement, please contact Dan Shu.

Read Full Biography


Amoy Jacques, MPH

Program Manager

Glory Osandatuwa

Research Administrative Assistant

Dan Shu

Administrative Assistant

Akalewold T. Gebremeskel, MSc, PhD (c)

PhD student supervised by Dr J. Etowa
Research Coordinator


PhD students

  • Sheryl Beauchamp (PhD)
  • Manal Abed Elkhalik Abdallah Fseifes (PhD)
  • Akalewold Gebremeskel (PhD)
  • Andrea Willet (PhD)

Master’s students

  • Zahra Jama (MScN)
  • Preetkiran Kaur (Master of Science degree in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences)

Student Volunteers

  • Fereshte Ahmadi
  • Onejem Comfort Audu
  • Michelle Awuku-Asabre
  • Nani Demeke
  • Semhal Sisay Gessese RN, BScN, MScN(c)
  • Aaron Hagos
  • Kani Osiagwu


  • Natania Abebe BScN
  • Getachew Abrha BSc, MPH, Ph.D. affiliate
  • Sarah Aly Undergraduate
  • Ekaete Asuquo Ph.D.
  • Maya Ayik BHSc
  • Nana Boadu (PhD)
  • Charles Dabone PhD,
  • Ihechi Dinneh BHSc
  • Maame Akyaa Duah MScN
  • Edidiong Ekanem BHSc
  • Itoro Ekanem BA

  • Tega Ekewenu (BScN)
  • Laika Intungane BScN
  • Linda Juergensen (PhD)
  • Royce Kathlain Jean-Louis BHSc
  • Janet Kemei
  • Melissa Kingwaya BHSc
  • Tolulope Kolawole MScN
  • Bagnini Kohoun, PhD
  • Sarah Layng BScN
  • Danielle Macdonald Ph.D.
  • Shannan MacDonald MNSc, Ph.D.
  • Aster Marasa BScN
  • Tatenda Masama BScN
  • Daniel Nagel Ph.D.
  • Alyssa Samantha Nikolla BHSc
  • Ndolo Njie-Mokoya MScN
  • Aurelie Ntumba BScN
  • Ariyo Oluwakemi BSc, MSc, MHI
  • Zubeida Ramji Ph.D.
  • Itunu Taiwo (B.Pharm, MSc)
  • Clemence Onglo Zogo BHSc